Skip to Content
News Releases
30 high school students awarded CIBC Youthvision™ Scholarships valued at up to $34,000 each
300th scholarship awarded as part of CIBC's 10 year, $10 million
    commitmentTORONTO, Sept. 18 /CNW/ - Today, CIBC (CM: TSX:NYSE) announced its 2008
CIBC Youthvision™ Scholarship recipients. Thirty high school students from
coast to coast, who applied for the scholarship while in Grade 10, are the
winners of the awards valued at up to $34,000 each. The program, delivered
through a partnership with Big Brothers Big Sisters of Canada and YMCA Canada,
helps young Canadians fulfill their academic aspirations and reach their full
    "The 30 students who received these scholarships now have a path to a
post-secondary education," said Gerry McCaughey, CIBC's President and Chief
Executive Officer at a ceremony recognizing the recipients today. "On behalf
of CIBC, I extend my congratulations to these 30 new scholarship recipients
and wish them every success on their continuing journey towards their academic
aspirations. I am proud of CIBC's long-standing support of this scholarship
program." Over the past 10 years, 300 Canadian high school students have been
awarded scholarships under the CIBC Youthvision Scholarship program, marking a
multi-year commitment of more than $10 million.
    Representing Big Brothers Big Sisters Canada at the event today were Ray
Pearo, member of the National Board of Directors, and Bruce MacDonald,
President and CEO. The YMCA was represented by Bahadur Madhani, Chair of the
Board of Directors, YMCA of Greater Toronto.
    "Winning the CIBC Youthvision Scholarship has ensured my financial
stability in my future post-secondary education," said 2008 scholarship
recipient Neroz Ottawa-Sabih of Hamilton, Ontario. "The removal of this
financial stress has enabled me to focus more on my academic success as well
as my community involvement. Coming from an economic and financial standing
that is lacking, this scholarship is life-defining, allowing me to pursue my
dream of becoming a pathologist. I am forever grateful to receive this
    In addition to their individual scholarships, Shannon Closson of Winnipeg
was presented with the Neil Morgan Volunteer Award for exemplary voluntary
contributions to her community and Jessica Camps-Cooke of Lachine, Quebec, was
honoured with the Ted Medland Achievement Award for attaining the highest
academic achievement of this year's crop of winners.
    In 2007, CIBC contributed more than $4 million to universities, colleges
and educational initiatives. CIBC's total ongoing commitments to educational
institutions approach $18 million, of which $6 million are aligned to
scholarships and bursaries at Canadian universities and colleges.

    CIBC is committed to supporting causes that matter to our clients, our
employees and our communities. We aim to make a difference in communities
through corporate donations, sponsorships and the volunteer spirit of
employees. With a strategic focus on youth, education and health, and employee
commitment to causes including the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation CIBC Run
for the Cure, United Way and the CIBC World Markets Children's Foundation, we
are investing in the social and economic development of communities across the
country. In 2007, CIBC group of companies contributed more than $36 million
worldwide to charitable organizations and community initiatives. Of this,
$27 million was invested in Canada to support national, regional and local
organizations. To learn more, visit

    Note to City/News Editors: Local news releases also will be issued
announcing CIBC Youthvision Scholarship winners. In some cases,
high-resolution portraits of the recipients will accompany these releases
where available.2008 CIBC Youthvision Scholarship Program - Recipients

    British Columbia:
    Victoria              Princess Lafayette

    Calgary               Omar Zaher Al Omar
    Calgary               Raima Chaudhry
    Calgary               Salem Ghebreselassie
    Calgary               Katherine Pang
    Edmonton              Aiyana Nicolas

    Lloydminster          Kimberly Jade Davis
    Saskatoon             Tiffany Steeves

    Brandon               Sharmayne Daniels
    Winnipeg              Shannon Closson
                          (Neil Morgan Volunteer Award winner)

    Burlington            Kevin Wang
    Brampton              Elizabeth Le
    Dunnville             Edward J. Sword
    Grimsby               Micaela Overholster
    Grimsby               Jeri-Lynn Robinson
    Hamilton              Lacey Chapman
    Hamilton              Neroz Ottawa-Sabih
    Kanata                Brook Meldrum
    Niagara Falls         Meagan Lefebvre
    Niagara Falls         Shayne Manthau
    Niagara Falls         Colin Perry
    Ottawa                Carlo Cassone-Cervantes
    Ottawa                Jeffrey Kollmann
    Ottawa                Danika Malovic
    Ottawa                Dillon E. Meilleur
    Toronto (Parkdale)    Ankit Arora
    Toronto (East York)   Emily Ball

    Lachine               Jessica Camps-Cooke
                          (Ted Medland Academic Award winner)

    Nova Scotia:
    Dartmouth             Quésha Glasgow

    Newfoundland and Labrador:
    St. John's            Zachary Parsons
For further information:
For further information: To interview the recipients or for more
information, please contact Doug Maybee, Director of Media Relations, CIBC at
(416) 980-7458 or