Skip to Content
News Releases
30 Grade 10 students from NL to BC awarded CIBC Youthvision® Scholarships

Unique $10 million program makes post-secondary education possible for young people who might not otherwise have the opportunity; includes six summer internships and tuition for four years

TORONTO, June 9 /CNW/ - Today, 30 Grade 10 students from coast to coast are on their way to securing a post-secondary education as recipients of this year's CIBC Youthvision Scholarships, valued at up to $36,000 each. This one-of-a-kind program has already helped 330 previous winners fulfill their academic aspirations in the last 10 years from a multi-year $10 million commitment from CIBC.

Early intervention in Grade 10 makes this scholarship program unique in Canada. CIBC Youthvision targets high-potential young people who might not otherwise have the opportunity to pursue a university or college education. The scholarship supports them in completing both their high school and post-secondary studies.

"Winning the CIBC Youthvision Scholarship means a lot to my family and me because now my mother doesn't have to worry about where the money is going to come from when it's time for me to go to college or university," said Raquel Simpson of Scarborough. "I'm happy that I can now fulfill my goals of what I want to be and not wonder how I'm going to get there."

To be eligible, Grade 10 students must be enrolled in a mentoring program with Big Brothers Big Sisters of Canada or the YMCA.

Winners of the CIBC Youthvision Scholarship receive six summer internships through the YMCA that begin right after Grade 10, valued at up to $20,000; and tuition for four years, valued at up to $16,000. They also receive ongoing mentoring from either Big Brothers Big Sisters of Canada or the YMCA until they graduate from their post-secondary education.

A comprehensive independent study of the first 10 years of the CIBC Youthvision Scholarship program revealed that early intervention relieves financial stress, and builds confidence and self-esteem. It also encourages independence, enabling students to do more in-depth life and educational planning. Ultimately, the scholarship motivates them to do better. Most graduate recipients of the program have gone on to continue or attain higher levels of education after their undergraduate or college degrees.

"On behalf of CIBC, I congratulate this year's 30 new scholarship recipients and wish them every success as they work to achieve their academic goals," said Gerry McCaughey, CIBC's President and Chief Executive Officer. "I am confident that they, like the hundreds of CIBC Youthvision Scholarship recipients before them, will use this support to go on to post-secondary education and then on to successful lifelong careers."

In addition to their individual CIBC Youthvision Scholarships, Ms. Nawras Ottawa-Sabih of Hamilton is also the recipient of the 2010 Neil Morgan Volunteer Award for exemplary voluntary contributions to her community. Ms. Alita Mann of Saskatoon is this year's winner of the Ted Medland Achievement Award for attaining the highest academic achievement of this year's group of CIBC Youthvision Scholarship winners.

Liam LaTouche received the CIBC Youthvision Scholarship in 2001 and graduated in 2007 from the University of Western Ontario with an Honours Bachelor of Science Specialization in Kinesiology. "The CIBC Youthvision Scholarship opened so many doors for me," he said. "It gave me the chance to grow as a person and along the career path I always dreamed of. I knew I wanted to go to university to get where I wanted to be, but I didn't have the means to go. I would have had a ton of debt from student loans. Getting the scholarship was so overwhelming. It gave me the chance to leave home and tailor my career path towards sports medicine by studying at Western, which has propelled me in my field."

CIBC is committed to supporting causes that matter to our clients, employees and our communities. We aim to make a difference in communities through corporate donations, sponsorships and the volunteer spirit of employees. With a strategic focus on youth, education and health, and employee commitment to causes including the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation CIBC Run for the Cure, the CIBC Children's Foundation and United Way, we are investing in the social and economic development of communities across the country. In 2009, $26.8 million was contributed through the CIBC group of companies to charitable and non-profit initiatives in Canada, supporting a wide variety of national, regional and local organizations. To learn more, visit

Note to City/News Editors: List of 2010 recipients is below. Local news releases also will be issued announcing local CIBC Youthvision Scholarship winners. Where available, hi-res photos of the recipients will accompany these releases

Recipients of the 2010 CIBC Youthvision Scholarship

    British Columbia:
    Vancouver                Ms. Alice Granados
    Vancouver                Ms. Sara Sklyarenko
    Victoria                 Ms. Rachel Malcolm

    Calgary                  Ms. Tuyet Tran
    Edmonton                 Mr. Giorgio Dechambre

    Saskatoon                Ms. Alita Mann (Ted Medland Award)

    Winnipeg                 Ms. Tori Brown
    Winnipeg                 Mr. Anthony Pasko
    Winnipeg                 Mr. Keinaan Sudi

    Alymer                   Ms. Susie Klassen
    Cobourg                  Mr. Connor Creer
    Grimsby                  Ms. Emma-Irene Davies
    Grimsby                  Mr. Matt Macpherson
    Hamilton                 Ms. Nawras Ottawa-Sabih (Neil Morgan Award)
    London                   Mr. Meran Mahir
    Ottawa                   Ms. Zeinab Adoyta
    Ottawa                   Ms. Robyn Bidgood
    St. Catharines           Ms. Aaryn Murray
    Stayner                  Ms. Mariah Ekman
    Strathroy                Mr. Jordan Thompson
    Toronto (Etobicoke)      Mr. Spencer Craig
    Toronto (Scarborough)    Ms. Mardaina Daley
    Toronto                  Ms. Hanna-Ruth Desalines
    Toronto (Scarborough)    Ms. Nirusha Jebanesan
    Toronto (Scarborough)    Ms. Raquel Simpson

    Prince Edward Island:
    Charlottetown            Mr. Billy Knockwood

    Nova Scotia:
    Halifax                  Ms. Afsa Shaban
    Halifax                  Mr. DJ Welsh

    Mount Pearl              Ms. Danielle Henley
    St. John's               Ms. Katherine Casey

For further information: To interview the recipients or for more information, please contact Doug Maybee, Director of Media Relations, CIBC at (416) 980-7458 or